b'In Brief.Lower Taxes and a Deadline Extension for Residents 5409 Madison PikeIndependence, KY 41051 Good news! You wont see an increase in your city taxes this year (859) 356-5302www.cityondependence.org andyoumightevenseeadecrease.Ordinance2020-O-07was passed keeping real estate tax the same for the fth year in a row MAYORat a rate of $.271 per $100. Personal property taxes are going down Chris Reinersmanmayor@cityondependence.org and have been set at a rate of $.634 per $100 (the previous rate was CITY COUNCIL$.642 for the past ve years).Bill Aseerebaseere@cityondependence.org Additionally, tax bills have been pushed back and payments are not Tom Brinkertbrinker@cityondependence.org due until March 1. Payments received after March 1 will be considered Lucas Deatonldeaton@cityondependence.org late and will be subject to penalty and interest. The 2 percent discount Amy Engelmanaengelman@cityondependence.org for tax bills is being extended for payments received by Jan. 1.Carol Franzencfranzen@cityondependence.org Passport Services SuspendedGreg Waitegwaite@cityondependence.org Passport services at the City Building are currently suspended. CITY ADMINISTRATORAcceptanceofpassportapplicationswillresumeFeb.1,barring Chris Moriconicmoriconi@cityondependence.org new governmental regulations. To locate other acceptance facilities, CITY CLERKpleasevisithttps://iafdb.travel.state.gov/.Forapplicationforms, Gina Gabbardggabbard@cityondependence.org required documentation, fees and other passport and international travel information, visit the ofcial passport website at https://travel.INDEPENDENCE POLICE DEPARTMENTstate.gov/content/passports/en/passports.html.Chief Tony Lucas(859) 356-2697PUBLIC SERVICESPublic Works NewsDirector Ken Hicks(859) 363-2949 Snow Removal RemindersIntheeventofsnoworice,pleasekeepvehicles, PARKS AND RECREATIONportable basketball goals, trash receptacles and other Facilitator Nita Brake(859) 363-2934 items off city streets so crews can easily clear roadways.BUILDING DEPARTMENTKeep an eye out for REACH Alerts and check the citys Building Inspector Mike Carpenter(859) 363-2947 website and Facebook page for snow emergency alerts.ZONING DEPARTMENTReport Road IssuesIs there a problematic pothole or a rocky roadway that needs Associate Zoning Ofcial Justin Cole(859) 363-2948 xing?UsetheLINK-GISRoadReportertoseewhichlocal agency maintains the roadway and to report the issue at https://www.kentoncounty.org/237/Road-Maintenance and click on the Congratulations to the followingRoad Reporter link.candidates for their election to Independence City Council: CHECK BACK FOR UPDATES COVID-19 recommendations, restrictions and guidelines are being Tom Brinker, Lucas Deaton, updated as the situation evolves. City staff have worked hard to plan events and make things as concrete as possible, but please know thatAmy Engelman, Carol Franzen,due to changing circumstances and new protocols set forth, previous plans and events may be altered. Please check the citys Facebook Chris Vogelpohl, and Greg Waite. page and website regularly for updates and sign up for the citys REACH Alert system to get important updates.DECLARATIONS of Independence,November 2020- March 20213'